Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes - 18th Jan 2011

posted 17 Jan 2011, 02:24 by Derek Bowen   [ updated 24 Jan 2011, 01:39 ]

Caulry AGM - 

Last Friday night (14th Jan) in Mount Temple, Caulry GAA had a very successful AGM in front of a crowd of around 35. Both the Chairman's and Secretary's detailed reports referenced that 2010 was a progressive year for the Caulry club, both on and off the field. The goals of retaining Division 2 status, and qualifying for the Knock-out stages of the Intermediate Championship were reached. To get the the Semi-Final of Intermediate Championship for first time since 1997 with a young team was a great achievement, but the Chairman stressed that the goal and focus this year should be to win the Intermediate Championship for the first time since 1985. The Management Team of Brendan Clarke, Jody Maylnn and Kevin Connaughton deserve great credit, and where thanked by both Chairman and Secretary. 

The Minor Board, as always, were complemented on the work they do to promote football, and bring the next generation of Caulry players through the ranks. From a Silverware perspective, 2010 was a quite year, but for most Caulry Underage teams to be playing at the highest level is a great achievement, and it  bears well for the future.

The outgoing Treasurer Joe Roarke, reported on another busy year financially for the club. His report was in great detail and accurate, and it highlighted that the running costs of any modern GAA Club is very high. At the end, on behalf of the Caulry club, Joe thanked the kindness of our sponsors, lotto tickets sellers and buyers, and as always their support and work does not go unnoticed. And both Chairman and Treasurer reported that a big fundraiser is going to have to be put in place for 2011 in order to help fulfill the running costs of not just Caulry, but every GAA Club.

Finally, all reports thanked everybody who helped the Caulry club during 2010, from the Coaching & Games Development, Social, Cultural & Scor, Park Development:, Finance, Membership & Registration, and Fundraising Sub Committees. Also, to everybody who helped out when Caulry hosted the Westmeath Annual County Convention.

Then was also a minutes silence at the start for all Caulry members who passed away in 2010. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a n-anamacha.

The Committee for the coming year were elected on the night;
Chairman: Donie Malone.
Secretary: Enda Malone. 
Treasurer: Joe Roarke.
Register: Irvine Allen & Jody Maylnn.
PRO: Not filled.
Irish Language Officer: Paddy McMenamin.
Youth Officer: Minor Board Chairman.
County Board Delegates: Donie Malone, Enda Malone, Richie Higgins, Ronan Carroll.
Committee Members: Danny Muldoon, James Hatton, Jody Mylann, T. J. Dunning, Derek Bowen , Brian Carolan, Rory Quinn, Pat Malone, Anthony Allen and Michael Allen.
Minor Board AGM
The Caulry Minor Board AGM will take place Friday 28th in Mount Temple Community Hall. As always, this is a very important meeting in relation to the running of the Caulry Club, and all members are encouraged to attend.