Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes - 31st Jan 2011

posted 31 Jan 2011, 03:06 by Derek Bowen   [ updated 31 Jan 2011, 09:50 ]

Minor AGM 
Last Thursday night (27th Jan) in Mount Temple, Caulry Minor Board had a very successful AGM in front of a large crowd of around 40 people. Both the Outgoing Chairman (Ger O'Kelly-Lynch who was stepping down following 7 years in the role) and the Secretary (Kevin Connaughton)  whose detailed reports referenced that 2010 was a successful and busy year for the Caulry Minor board. Caulry were represented by six teams (Under 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18) with 200 players (boys and girls) in total.
There were plenty of highlights in what was an eventful year, with the main highlight of the year being the Under 16s reaching the Final of the Division 1 Championship.

The underage coaching initiative which Caulry has implemented in the last few years continues to deliver, with former under-age star Kevin Maguire starting for Westmeath in last year's Leinster Senior Championship Semi-Final. There was also a high representation of twelve Caulry players on Westmeath Intercounty teams from Under 14 to Minor. The players who had the distinction of representing Westmeath in football were John Maguire, Michael McMahon, David Brooks, Evan Roarke, Stephen Woods, Andrew O'Sullivan, Killian Healy, Hugh Allen, Colyn Shortall, Eoin Fox, Alan Daly and Robert Hickey. The highlight being the five Caulry lads who were pof the Westmeath Under 16 panel with won the Gerry Reilly Tournament (see picture below), and were beaten in the Final of the Fr. Manning Cup.

Both reports also thanked the numerous people who helped out during 2010, from parents, mentors, members from the Minor and Senior Executive Committees, both Mount Temple and Baylin National Schools, and indeed anybody who helped out the Minor Board for what was another successful year for the Club.

Finally - the Caulry GAA club would like to thank outgoing Minor Chairman Ger O'Kelly-Lynch for his dedication and hard work for the last seven years. Ger has brought great leadership and vision to the Juvenile football in Caulry, and we wish him well in his new role as on the Senior Executive Committee as Public Relations Officer for the Club.

The Minor Executive Committee for the coming year were elected on the night;

Chairperson : Brian Carolan
Secretary: Kevin Connaughton.
Assistant-Secretary: Richie Higgins.
Player Development Officer: T.J. Dunning.
Child & ASA Officer Eleanor Claffey
Underage Registrar: John Lawless.
Underage Mentors for 2011 was discussed in detail on the night and a full list for each age group for the coming year will be published in the next few weeks.