Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 10th December 2017-

posted 10 Dec 2017, 23:17 by Samantha Carroll   [ updated 13 Dec 2017, 10:20 ]
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Christmas Lotto Draw and Club AGM

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €10,400 in our draw held on 4th of December last.
Numbers drawn: 2, 19, 22, 27
Weekly winners of the €30: Seamus Casey, Mike Nolan, Ann Smyth, Catherine & Seamus Claffey, Catherine Ganley
Sellers prize €30: Michael McMahon
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €10,600 on 11th of December 2017.

Christmas Lotto Draw
Caulry GAA Annual Christmas Lotto Draw will take place next Monday night. Along with the jackpot of €10,800, there will be lots of extra prizes to be won on the night. Tickets are available from any committee member, Kieran's shop and Egan's Pub.

Club AGM
The Annual General Meeting of the Caulry club was held on last Friday night in Mount Temple Community Centre. A minutes silence was observed at the start of the meeting for all deceased members and their families during the past year. Outgoing chairman Ger O’Kelly Lynch, welcomed a good sized attendance and began his report. Although being relegated to Intermediate ranks for the 2018 campaign, Ger thanked the senior squad and their management team of Gordon McDonnell, Ronan Carroll, Jody Malynn and Brian Mullarney and kit-man Enda Malone for their hard work and commitment during the year and wished them the very best in their future endeavours. Ger also expressed gratitude to the management team of Robbie Ryan, Keith Dolan and Brian Mullarney for their work with our junior team and praised the efforts of Robbie Ryan, Richie Higgins, Tommy Woods and Brian Mullarney who managed our U21 squad that were unlucky to be knocked out in the semi-final stages of their championship to the eventual champions The Downs. He also welcomed Des Dolan as the manager of the Intermediate team for 2018 and wished him the very best of luck in this role.
Ger then praised the minor board and all underage teams for their performances throughout the year. In particular, he congratulated our minors on winning the Division 2 MFC and their management team of Kevin Connaughton, Richie Higgins and John Burke. 
Ger then praised the work of Caulry ladies on their 5th year running a series of underage teams and he expressed sincere gratitude to the local schools of An Grianán and Baylin NS for their hard work in promoting GAA in the community.
Ger spoke about this year’s pitch development and expressed his excitement for the coming year’s opening of a functioning playing pitch and training area in late Spring 2018. He also praised the recent work done on the development of a new community walking track around the facilities. He expressed sincere gratitude to outgoing Club Development Officer Joe Roarke and the development committee for their enthusiasm and hard work throughout the year. He also complemented hon secretary Keith Dolan and hon treasurer Padraig Killane for their workload and support during the year. Ger concluded by announcing his resignation from the role as Club Chairman after 6 years and thanked the executive and all those who he had the pleasure of working alongside during his time. Finally, Ger wished all club members, supporters and their families a happy Christmas and successful new year and he wished all senior and underage teams the best of luck in their 2018 campaigns.
The outgoing secretary Keith Dolan then reiterated many of the chairman’s comments. He also gave a detailed account of all matches and activities during the past year. Keith acknowledged the achievements of all our players who represented the club at county and schools level, in particular those who reached the Leinster School Final with Moate Community School earlier in the year. 
The outgoing treasurer, Padraig Killane’s report showed the ever-increasing cost of running the club. He stated that the club lotto was a major fundraiser for the past year and thanked all who contributed so generously to fundraising during the year.
After the reading of the reports, the election of key club officers took place.
The following Key Club Officers were elected for the coming year:
Patron: Seamus Casey
President: Richie Allen
Chairman: James Casey
Vice Chairman: Richie Higgins
Hon Secretary: Keith Dolan
Asst Secretary: Damien Keenan
Hon Treasurers: Padraig Killane & Damien Dolan
Lotto Co-ordinator: Michael McMahon
Registration Officer: Pat Healy
PRO: Samantha Carroll
Irish Language Officer: Joe Roarke
Healthy Club Officer: John Lawless
Player Insurance Officer: Robbie Ryan
Club Development Officers: Hugh Gaynor & Colin Hatton
Park Maintenance Officer: deferred to first executive meeting
Club Coaching Officer: TJ Dunning
Match Day Co-ordinator: Pat Malone
County Board Delegates: James Casey, Richie Higgins, George Hatton, Ger O’Kelly Lynch
Other Executive Committee positions and support Sub-Committees discussed on the night will be confirmed and finalised in the coming weeks.
The club wishes to thank all club officers for their tremendous hard-work over the past year, especially outgoing Chairman Ger O'Kelly Lynch. Ger has held various executive positions in the club over the past 13 years, 6 of which he served as a very successful club chairman. During his time in charge, Ger had the pleasure of chairing the club when we won the Intermediate Championship in 2014 and when we took to the field for the Senior Championship for the first time since 1986 the following year. Ger also overseen the purchasing of the new pitch during his reign and was involved in a wide range of very successful fundraising events, such as the Strictly Fun Dancing in 2014. We wish to thank Ger for his hard-work and dedication during his time in charge. Ger's enthusiasm and commitment to his role were key aspects to his success over the past 6 years and we hope to see him involved with the club in the near future. A huge thanks to Ger for his outstanding role as chairman. The club also wished his successor James Casey all the best for the coming year.