Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 13th April 2014 -

posted 14 Apr 2014, 11:45 by Caulry Admin
Under 14 League 
Caulry 6-16 
Tubberclaire 3-5 

Caulry went down the road to Tubberclaire on Monday week last for their second match in the Under 14 League and started very slowly. Coming up to half- time, Tubberclaire actually led 2-4 to 1-2. However our lads rallied to lead 4-4 to 2-4 at the break. They completely took over on the resumption to run out easy winners against a much smaller home outfit. Rian Rasmussen had his best performance of the year, while there was also good displays from Jack Sheehan, Eoin Shortall, Colin Murphy, Shane Cleary , Darcy Lawless and Roan Sweeney.

Team & Scorers: James Clavin, Jack Sheehan, Eoin Shortall, Darren Browne, Dylan Lowry, Sean Fox, Rian Rasmussen, Colin Murphy (0-5), Neil Clinton (0-2), Adam Mullins (0-2), Darcy Lawless  (3-3), Shane Cleary (0-2), Ciaran Geoghegan, Liam Doyle (2-0), Thomas Dunning (0-2),  Roan Sweeney, Adam Donoghue, Glen Carolan.

ACFL Div 5
Caulry 2-20
Killucan 3-3

Caulry achieved their second win in two outings in this ACFL Div 5 game against Killucan played in the Park last Sunday afternoon in the sunshine. In truth from the word go Caulry were by far the dominant side and despite Killucan being gifted a goal due to a defensive blunder early on and playing with the wind, Caulry still went in at half-time leading by 1-11 to 1-2 following some fine points particularly by Peter Smyth and Alan Daly and an opportunist goal from Alan Carroll.
The second half continued in the same vein and despite a couple of early goals by Killucan, Caulry with the wind at their backs and playing well within themselves scored several well taken points from play particularly by Alan Carroll and Robbie Ryan and a well taken goal by Robbie Hickey to run out easy winners on a scoreline of Caulry 2-20 Killucan 3-3.
Team & Substitutes : Killian Nagle, Jack O'Kelly-Lynch, Pat Buckley, Ian Malynn, Ernie Buckley, Aidan Murphy, Patrick Sleator, Peter Smyth 0-4 (2f), Micky Fitzpatrick 0-1, Andy O'Sullivan 0-1, Robbie Hickey 1-2 (1f), Alan Daly 0-2, Stephen Woods 0-2, Alan Carroll 1-4 (1f), Robbie Ryan 0-3. 
Subs Used : Harry Hughes 0-1, Ryan Browne

Westmeath Comortas Na Mbun Scoil Semi-Finals

For the first time ever Caulry will be represented by their two affiliated schools in the finals in the same year in a unique achievement.

An Grianan Mount Temple N.S. 3-10
St Josephs Rochfortsbridge N.S. 3-8

On Friday week last April 4th, Mount Temple boys travelled to Rochfortsbridge for the Division 2 13-a-side Comortas Na mBun Scoil semi final. Having shipped a 14 point beating in the qualifying section to the same opposition, they were very much the underdog. A goal for the home side almost from the throw in really tested the resolve. Despite this with Thomas Dunning, Conor Bracken, Rory Mullins, James Clavin and Roan Sweeney  controlling the game, they really should have been ahead instead of trailing 1-5 to 0-4 at the break.  However two spectacular goals from Roan Sweeney who was becoming unmarkable, and a superb finish from James Buckley allied to magnificent long range point scoring from Thomas Dunning, Conor Bracken and Alan Malynn put them 3 points to the good going into a nail biting three and half minutes injury time. In the final 11 seconds they survived, a 45 and 2 close in frees to qualify for their third final in a row.

Panel & Scorers: James Clavin, Rory Mullins, Ruari Casey, Lee-Roy Coughlan, Daniel Buckley, Colm Shortall, Thomas Dunning (0-6), Conor Bracken (0-2), Jamie Conlon, Roan Sweeney (2-1), Tom Cloonan, Alan Malynn (0-1) Charlie Malone, Luke Buckley, James Buckley (1-0), Oisin Murphy, Conor McKnight, Sean Murphy, Sean Malone, Aaron Murray, Adam Doyle, Adam Dunning, Padraig Murphy, Josh Jocker, Daniel David, Lee Carroll 

St Ciarans Baylin N.S. 3-11
Educate Together Mullingar 3-3

Baylin hosted Educate Together, Mullingar in Caulry on Wednesday morning last in the Division 3 11-a-side Comortas Na mBun Scoil. Displaying great form in the qualifying section, Baylin were expected to come through. However they were rocked by the concession of two first half goals and but for some great point taking by Adam Donoghue and defending by Shane Lawless and Luke Hamilton, could have trailed by more than just a point at half way. Despite playing against the breeze on the resumption, Zach Nolan, Glen Carolan and Senan Baker really upped their performance as the better balanced Baylin side finally found their rhythm. Following almost a similar pattern to the Mount Temple match, three goals , including clinical finishes from Glen Carolan and Senan Baker, turned the match very much in their favour. In the end Baylin were confortable winners to qualify for their first final in all of seven years.

Panel & Scorers: Jack Norton, Shane Lawless, Luke Hamilton, Olan Healy, Zach Nolan, Adam Donoghue (1-7), James Carey, Luke Clinton, Senan Baker,(1-2), Shane Hynes, Glen Carolan (1-2) Adam O Grady, Cathal Redmond, Rory Lyons, Callum McKnight, Evan McCormack, Dylan Joyce. 

Under 6/8 Football
The Under 6 and 8 football practice continues this Sunday at 12 noon, with new members always welcome.

The Caulry Ladies football continue the Gaeliic4Girls Initiative on Sunday at 12 noon on the Caulry pitch. This is for girls aged 8-12 years of age who may not have played gaelic football before, but want to try it out in a fun, none competitive environment. It has been attracting good attendances

Ladies Fitness Evening
 Ladies Fitness Evening  continues  from 7 to 8pm this Tuesday at the Caulry pitch. This is for all lady club members interested in doing some form of fitness at whatever level, be it walking, jogging etc and also as a social outlet. Any ladies from the parish or surrounding area are welcome to come along, however, they must be club members and if not already, can sign up for the €25 membership on the night.

A.C.L. Division 1 v Tubberclaire Home Sat Apr 20th @ 6.00pm

Club Lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot in our draw held on 7th April last. 
Numbers drawn were 2,4,24,28 
Weekly winners of the €30 were:  The 6 Lads, Patricia Donelon, Alan Hughes, Elenor Fitzpatrick, Ciara Hynes. 
Sellers prize €30: James Hatton

Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €3200 on April 14th.