Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 14th February 2016-

posted 15 Feb 2016, 00:57 by Samantha Carroll
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Sympathies, Feis Cup Quarter Final, Minor League
Club Lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €3,800 in our draw held on 8th of February last.
Numbers drawn: 4, 8, 21, 23
Weekly winners of the €30: Pat Buckley, David Malone, Michael Dowd, John & Brian, The Five Boys
Sellers prize €30: M McMahon
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €4,000 on 15th of February 2015.

The club extends it’s deepest sympathies to the Seery family, Mount Temple, and the McDonald family, Mayo, on their recent sad loss. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam.

Feis Cup Quarter Final
Caulry 0-8
Coralstown/Kinnegad 0-11
Caulry travelled to Lakepoint Park on Saturday afternoon last for their Quarter Final clash with Coralstown/Kinnegad in the Feis Cup.
Both sides were slow to settle with the opening score of the game coming on the 5th minute from a pointed-free for Coralstown/Kinnegad. Some good defending from Conor Dolan and Ciaran Allen and a great pass from Mark Fitzpatrick found Alan Daly who pointed on the 21st minute. The teams exchanged scores, with Damien Dolan scoring an excellent point for Caulry, to leave the opposition leading 0-3 to 0-2 at the halftime whistle.
Caulry’s defence held well early in the second half with Michael McMahon and Eoin Donohoe valiant in their endeavours. Alan Fitzpatrick equalised with a superb score. This was shortly followed by a Kinnegad point. Quick scores from Jack O’Kelly Lynch, Fitzpatrick and Peter Smyth meant Caulry took the lead by the third quarter. The teams traded scores. However, four unanswered points for the opposition meant Coralstown/Kinnegad took the lead. Fitzpatrick pointed on the 27th minute to narrow the deficit. However, a late point for the opposition left three points between the sides at the final whistle.
Team & Scorers: Cillian Nagle, Ciaran Allen, Michael McMahon, Conor Dolan, Jack O’Kelly Lynch (0-1), Damien Dolan (0-1), Eoin Donohoe, Stephen Connolly, Alan Fitzpatrick (0-4), Eoghan Grennan, Paddy Sleator, Alan Daly (0-1), Loughlin Casey, Mark Fitzpatrick, Killian Healy
Subs: Conor McCormack for Eoghan Grennan, Emmet Nally for Loughlin Casey, Peter Smyth (0-1) for Killian Healy, Declan Donohoe for Jack O’Kelly Lynch, Michael Carroll for Cillian Nagle

Minor League
Caulry 6-11
Lilliput Gaels 3-10
Our minors got off to a winning start in their league campaign on Sunday afternoon last where they had a comprehensive win over Lilliput Gales on a scoreline of 6-11 to 3-10.
Lilliput Gaels were first off the mark with a point within the opening 60 seconds. Our lads soon found their feet and responded with three quick goals from Jack Bradbury Hughes, Sean Clinton and Conor McCormack. The opposition kicked the next three scores of the game to narrow proceedings. A great pass from Clinton found Peter O’Kelly Lynch who pointed on the 9th minute. A goal on the quarter hour mark for Lilliput Gaels left just two points between the sides. Jack Connaughton brought off a great save in goals and superb defending from Sean Fox and Darren Hynds allowed Bradbury Hughes to point for Caulry.  McCormack and Sean Woods added to the scoring tally. Lilliput Gaels hit the back of the Caulry net to narrow the deficit once again. However, a superb goal from Aaron Fallon and a point from Woods left two goals separating the sides at the interval on a scoreline of 4-6 to 2-6.
On the resumption, great defending from Charlie Parker and Kevin O’Flaharty allowed Fox and O’Kelly Lynch to point for Caulry, while Fallon rattled the back of the opposition’s net for a second time. The Caulry lads worked tirelessly throughout and some great combined teamwork from Clinton and McCormack allowed Liam Malynn to send the ball to the back of the Lilliput Gael net. A goal and a point in quick succession for the opposition narrowed proceedings on the 45th minute. However, late points from Malynn and McCormack allowed Caulry to run out easy winners on a scoreline of 6-11 to 3-10.
Team & Scorers: Jack Connaughton, Eoin Shortall, Darren Hynds, Kevin O’Flaharty, Peter O’Kelly Lynch (0-2), Charlie Parker, Sean Fox (0-1), Sean Clinton (1-0), Colin Murphy, Sean Woods (0-2), Jack Bradbury Hughes (1-1), Lee Guinan, Liam Malynn  (1-1), Aaron Fallon (2-0), Conor McCormack (1-4)