Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 17th May 2014 -

posted 19 May 2014, 04:39 by Caulry Admin
Cumann na mBunscol  Westmeath Finals - 
This Wednesday evening, May 21st will be unique and historic day for the Caulry club when their two affiliated and catchment area national schools, An Grianan, Mount Temple and St Ciarans, Baylin contest two Cumann na mBunscol finals in the same year. 

This will be the Mount Temple boys third final in a row, having had to wait 21 years since the previous occasion prior to that, while the Baylin boys will be appearing in their first final for over eight years. Mount Temple were victorious last year, but were beaten by this year’s opponents, Tang in the previous final and who coincidentally are also appearing in their third final in a row. In another coincidence, Baylin’s opposition will be Rathweir, whom Mount Temple defeated in last year’s Division 3 final. 

This is the pinnacle of schoolboys football and many of the players displaying their talents on all four teams will no doubt backbone their club and county teams in years to come. In the group stage paths to the final, An Grianan had victories over Kilpatrick, Kilbeggan, Cornamaddy and defeats to Tang and Rochfortsbridge before overcoming the ‘Bridge in a thrilling semi-final. The Baylin lads have a 100% success  with wins over Moate, Gaelscoil, Athlone, St Mary’s Athlone,Tyrellsspass and Educate Together, Mullingar in the semi-final. It is a great achievement to have both schools in this showpiece occasion. 

Hopefully all the players will do themselves justice on the day playing on the hallowed county grounds of Cusack Park Mullingar and that as many people as possible will come and provide deserved support on the evening. Baylin’s Division 3 11-a-side clash with Rathweir throws in at 5pm and will be followed by An Grianan’s Division 2 13-a-side contest with Tang at 6pm. 

Cumann na mBunscol: - Division 3 Final: St Ciarans Baylin N.S.v Rathweir N.S. 5pm Cusack Park Mulllingar
Cumann na mBunscol: - Division 2 Final: An Grianan Mount Temple N.S. v Tang N.S.6pm Cusack Park Mullingar
Division 1 A.C.L. v Garrycastle  Away this Friday May 23rd @ 7.30pm
Under 14 League v Millmore Gaels in Ballymore this Thursday May 22nd @ 7.00pm

Under 16 League
Our Under 16 team went down to their first defeat in four outings when losing by eight points away to Killucan on Monday Week last.
Caulry line-out: Aaron Fallon, Darren Hynds, Charlie Parker, Kevin O Flaherty, Sean Clinton, Jordan Dunning, Conor McCormack, Cialan Dollard, Irwin Griffin, Jack Bradbury- Hughes, Peter O Kelly Lynch, Sean Woods, Jack Connaughton. Subs: Liam Malynn, Ross Daly, Aaron Malone.

Division 5 A.C.F.L.
The Division 5 A.C.L. game with St Josephs Streamstown fixed for Sunday morning last did not go ahead due to a referring mix-up.

Under 14 Girl’s Championship
The team travelled to Tyrrellspass last Tuesday to play their first round of the championship. Tyrrellspass showed their hand in the first few minutes of the game by scoring two consecutive points putting them into the lead straight away. Caulry met their challenge in the form of Aishling Gaynor and Lauren Claffey scoring a point each to equalise. Two more points from Aoibhinn McKnight and Britney McGuire allowed a temporary lead until Tyrrellspass fought back with three more points. However a goal and a point each from Leah Quigley and Emma Farrell brought the first half to a comfortable end for Caulry with a half time score of 2-7 to 0-5. 
Though not resting on their laurels Caulry were aware that Tyrrellspass were going to come out fighting in the second half and while the Caulry defence was impenetrable Tyrellspass managed to narrow the margin to just a goal between them at one stage in the game by scoring seven points. The Caulry girls upped their game another notch and displayed outstanding teamwork and determination to finish the match on a scoreline of: Caulry 3-11 Tyrellspass 0-12

Panel and scores: Niamh Ò Dowd, Orlaith Holloway,Jasmine Maloney, Sarah Lawless,Annalise D.Peredo,Holly Maloney,Ruth Martin,Britney Maguire(0-1)Aishling Gaynor(0-1) Aishling Daly,Leah Quigley(2-3), Lauren Claffey(0-1), Aoibhinn McKnight(0-1), Emma Farrell(1-4), Sinead Muldoon, Rachel Hughes, Therese Costello.

Club Lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot in our draw held on 12th May last. 
Numbers drawn were 7,11.21,25
Weekly winners of the €30 were:  Mary Mulligan, Kathleen Fallon, Detti Hayes, Seamus & Bella Allen, 5 Cailini.  
Sellers prize €30: Richie Higgins
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €4200 on May 19th.

Last weekend saw both the Westmeath Senior and Minor teams exit the Leinster championship. Kevin Maguire and Damian Dolan represented us on the senior team, while Eoin Fox was our representative on the minor team. All three played fine games despite the outcome.

However,  the Under 14s gave the county some optimism  for the future when coming out on top once again in the second blitz day containing teams from, Offaly, Longford and Wicklow played in Athlone on Saturday last. Well done to the Caulry players involved, Darren Browne, Neil Clinton, Shane Cleary, Sean Fox, Dylan Lowry, Adam Mullins and Colin Murphy.