Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 1st November 2015-

posted 2 Nov 2015, 00:01 by Samantha Carroll   [ updated 2 Nov 2015, 13:06 ]
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Sympathies, Best Wishes, U21 Championship, Division 4 ACFL, Under 14 Presentation and U21 Semi-Final Fixture

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €2,600 in our draw held on 27th of October last.
Numbers drawn: 6, 11, 25, 26
Weekly winners of the €30: Daire Allen, Pat Allen, Pat Creavin, The 5 Ladies, Jane Lee
Sellers prize €30: Mick Allen
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €2,800 on 2nd of November 2015.

The club extends it’s deepest sympathies to the Dully family, Baylin, the Nugent family, Mount Temple and the Shortall family, Nahad, on their recent sad losses. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a n-anamacha.

Best Wishes
Congratulations to Alan & Lisa Rigney on the birth of their baby boy recently.

U21 Championship
Caulry 1-17
Millmore Gaels 0-7
Caulry ran out comfortable winners over Millmore Gaels on Monday afternoon last, with a well-earned thirteen point victory in their latest U21 Championship fixture.
Caulry opened the scoring tally with a fine point from Eoin Fox, which was shortly followed by a pointed-free from Robbie Hickey. Millmore got off the mark in the 5th minute with a point from play. Hickey rattled the back of Millmore’s net after a great pass from Eoin Donohoe. David Brookes pointed for Caulry to stretch the lead to four points.  Two points for the homeside kept Millmore in touch. Caulry then scored three unanswered points, with Hickey, Harry Hughes and Brookes all on target, before the interval after some nice combined team work from Alan Daly, Brookes and Stephen Connolly.
On the resumption, two early points for the homeside narrowed the deficit to just three points. Great work from Fox and Hughes enabled Conor McCormack, Emmet Nally and Hickey to add to the scoring tally. Brookes kicked the next two scores of the game after some good defending from Sean O’Neill and Aaron Roarke. The teams traded scores with Paddy Sleator and Hickey on target. Cillian Nagle brought of a good save in goal, while James Pettit and Conor Dolan had good games in defence. Charlie Parker defended well while further points from McCormack, Stephen Brookes and Hickey meant the scoreboard read 1-17 to 0-7 at the final whistle.
Team & Scorers: Cillian Nagle, Conor Dolan, James Pettit, Sean O’Neill, Eoin Fox (0-1), Aaron Roarke, Emmet Nally (0-1), Eoin Donohoe, Harry Hughes (0-1), Alan Daly, Conor McCormack (0-3), Stephen Connolly, David Brookes (0-4, 1f), Robbie Hickey (1-5, 2f), Paddy Sleator (0-1)
Subs: Stephen Brookes (0-1) for Alan Daly, Charlie Parker for Emmet Nally

Division 4 ACFL
Caulry 8-4
Multyfarnham 1-9
Caulry played host to Multyfarnham on Sunday morning last in their last Division 4 ACFL fixture and ran out worthy winners on a scoreline of 8-4 to 1-9.
Caulry hit the ground running and went six points up with two superb goals from Stephen Connolly and Peter Smyth inside the opening ten minutes.  Some great defending from Eoin Donohoe and great fielding from Harry Hughes saw Paddy Sleator and Michael Fitzpatrick point for the homeside. Multyfarnham registered their first score of the game on the 15th minute. However, Caulry responded with a goal after a superbly placed ball from Smyth found Sleator, who neatly tapped the ball into the back of the net. Multyfarnham went on a quick scoring blitz, which yielded an unanswered 1-3, to trail 3-2 to 1-5 at halftime.
Caulry took charge early in the second half as Sleator rattled the back of the opposition’s net for a second time. A pointed-free for Multyfarnham narrowed the deficit. However, the homeside began to dominate proceedings as a brilliant pass from Eoin Fox enabled Killian Healy to hit the back of Multyfarnham’s net. This was shortly followed by goals from Donohoe and Smyth. The teams traded scores. However, a late goal from Alan Daly enabled Caulry to run our comfortable winners on a scoreline of 8-4 to 1-9.
Team & Scorers: Cillian Nagle, Ciaran Allen, Pat Buckley, Jack O’Kelly Lynch, Ernie Buckley, Michael McMahon, Eoin Fox, Eoin Donohoe (1-0), Harry Hughes, Alan Daly (1-0), Peter Smyth (2-1, 1f), Stephen Connolly (1-0), Killian Healy (1-0), Michael Fitzpatrick (0-2), Paddy Sleator (2-1)
Subs: Mark Malone for Jack O’Kelly Lynch, Loughlin Casey for Eoin Donohoe

Under 14 Presentation

At Mount Temple Community Centre on Friday night last there was a well attended function to honour this year’s Caulry Under 14 Championship Division 2 winners and the 2014 Division 1 Shield winners. Opening proceedings, Minor Board Chairman, Richie Higgins welcomed everyone and complemented both the players and management team of Gerry Donoghue, Matt Hamilton, Brian Carolan, Hugh Clavin, Hugh Gaynor and T.J. Dunning on their achievements and hoped that there would be many more celebratory nights like this in the future. Westmeath county senior player, Damian Dolan and Caulry Senior captain, Gary Flanagan were on hand to present the winning medals to the players who were introduced, with a brief salutation by T.J. Dunning. T.J. then went on to thank Damian and Gary, and how they were perfect role models for our young players with not only their achievements on the field, but also how they carried themselves off it. He thanked Pat Healy for his superb videoing, and further thanked the club minor and senior boards and all parents for their help and cooperation throughout the year and hoped for the same going forward. He complemented the Westmeath Minor board on finally running the championships consistently during the summer months and thus providing regular football. He then thanked Breda Malynn and her catering team who ensured once again that no one went home hungry. Finally he stated, ‘that there will be no stone left unturned in the quest for further success’.Gary Flanagan speaking, said he was very impressed by the numbers who had already tasted county football and congratulated them on their success to date, however, in excellent words of wisdom said,’ they should now park that success and move on to the next challenge’.

For the record the following were the victorious panels:

2015 Championship: James Clavin, Ciaran Gaynor, Glenn, Carolan, Luke Hamilton, Tom Cloonan, Colm Shortall, Daniel Buckley, Zach Nolan, Olan Healy, James Carey, Jamie Conlon,Thomas Dunning, Roan Sweeney, Luke Buckley, Rory Mullins, Adam Donoghue, Alan Malynn, Senan Baker, Shane Hynes, Sean Malone, Josh Jocker, Leroy Coughlan, Shane Lawless, Ruairi Casey, Conor Paul, James Buckley.
2014 Shield: Colin Murphy, Neil Clinton, Shane Cleary, Eoin Shortall, Jack Sheehan, Dylan Lowry, Darren Browne, Darcy Lawless, Liam Doyle, Ciaran Geoghegan, Rian Rasmussen, Adam Mullins, Sean Fox, Eugene Costello, Adam Donoghue, Thomas Dunning, Daniel Buckley, Luke Hamilton, Glenn Carolan, Zach Nolan, James Clavin, Rory Mullins, Roan Sweeney.

Under 21 Semi-Final Fixture

Caulry U21s travel to Hogan Park, Moate, on Sunday next for their semi-final clash with Moate All Whites at 11:30am. All our supporters please get behind our team. Best of luck to the team and management.