Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 22nd April 2018-

posted 22 Apr 2018, 22:07 by Samantha Carroll   [ updated 23 Apr 2018, 11:41 ]
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Division 4 ACFL, Division 2 ACFL and 

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €5,000 in our draw held on 16th of April last.
Numbers drawn: 1, 12, 15, 25
Weekly winners of the €30: Eugene Murphy, Ollie Baker, Myra Allen, Philip Dully, Nicky & John
Sellers prize €30: Kieran Hanevy
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €5,200 on 23rd of April 2018.

Division 4 ACFL
Caulry 2-4
Mullingar Shamrocks 4-11
Our juniors had their first game in this year’s Division 4 ACFL on Friday evening last as they made the journey to Springfield park.
The opposition were first off the mark with a quick goal and point early in the half. Cialan Dollard sent in a good pass to Peter Smyth who was pulled down inside the square. Smyth then slotted the resulting penalty neatly into the back of the net. Dollard pointed from a free on the 8th minute to draw level. However, Mullingar Shamrocks never sat back as they raced up the field and scored 1-2 in quick succession. Alan Daly drew on back on the 16th minute after some good work from Paddy McMahon, Dollard and Smyth. The opposition responded well with a point of their own. Smyth then sent in a perfectly floating ball to McMahon who rattled the Mullingar net on the 23rd minute. However, the margins were stretched again to six points as Mullingar Shamrocks registered their third goal of the evening. A late point from Smyth saw Caulry trail 3-5 to 2-3 at the halftime whistle.
An almost scoreless second half was in store for our lads as the opposition dominated proceedings throughout, adding 1-2 early one. Brookes’ goal attempt was well blocked down on the 43rd minute as our lads were guilty of missing some scoring opportunities. Sean Fox tried hard in the backline as Shamrocks tapped over four more points. A converted-free from James Daly on the dot on full time meant Mullingar Shamrocks ran out worthy winners on a scoreline of 4-11 to 2-4.
Team & Scorers: Ernie Buckley, Ciaran Allen, Brain Mullarney, Adam Mullins, Jack O’Kelly Lynch, Sean Fox, Neil Clinton, Gary Flanagan, James Daly (0-1, 1f), Cialan Dollard (0-1, 1f), Eoin Donohoe, Alan Daly (0-1), Liam Malynn, Peter Smyth (1-1), Paddy McMahon (1-0)
Subs: Eric Fallon for Eoin Donohoe, Keith McMenamin for Neil Clinton, Eoin Shortall for Ciaran Allen, Paddy McHugh for Adam Mullins, Stephen Brookes for Liam Malynn, Will Buckley for Peter Smyth

Division 2 ACFL
Caulry 0-5
Tang 1-5
Our lads suffered their second defeat in their third round of this year’s Division 2 ACFL when they played host to Tang on Sunday morning last.
Both teams were sluggish from the offset, trading early wides. A pointed-free from Andy O’Sullivan got our lads off the mark on the 6th minute. Some sloppy play in our backline helped Tang to register their first point on the 10th minute. Damien Dolan defended well as a superb pass from O’Sullivan found John Maguire who edged Caulry in front. This lead was short lived as Tang followed suit with a fine point on the 14th minute. Dolan and Harry Hughes combined well setting Dolan up for his first score of the game. However, our lads failed to push on as Tang rattled off a number of wides. Despite some good fielding from Stephen Connolly, Tang put their noses in front with to quick scores just before the interval.
On the resumption, the visitors raced out of the tracks and left four points the margin with a well-worked goal. Emmet Nally drew one back after a good pass from Sean Clinton. Sean Fox done well when introduced as the teams traded scores with O’Sullivan pointing for Caulry. Cillian Nagle brought off a good save deep into additional time as a last minute effort from O’Sullivan at the other end of the field hit the post and went out wide leaving Caulry trail 1-5 to 0-5 at the fulltime whistle.
Team & Scorers: Cillian Nagle, Darren Hynds, James Pettit, Eoin Fox, Damien Dolan (0-1), Alan Fitzpatrick, Harry Hughes, Kevin Maguire, Stephen Connolly, Conor Dolan, Sean Clinton, Emmet Nally (0-1), Eoghan Grennan, John Maguire (0-1), Andy O’Sullivan (0-2, 2f)
Subs: Sean Fox for Harry Hughes Declan Donohoe for James Pettit, Loughlin Casey for Declan Donohoe, Neil Clinton for Eoghan Grennan

U16 League away to The Downs on Monday at 7pm
U14 League vs. Millmore Gaels in Milltown on Thursday at 7pm
Division 2 ACFL away to St. Mary's Rochfortbridge on Saturday at 6pm
Division 4 ACFL at home to CFCW on Sunday at 3pm