Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 25th June

posted 26 Jun 2012, 00:18 by Derek Bowen   [ updated 1 Jul 2012, 09:10 ]
Match reports for the following are below:  
U8s Caulry v Delvin 
U14s Caulry v Kinnegad 
Junior Championship Caulry v Coralstown-Kinnegad 
Marita Stone Cup Girls Final - Baylin N.S v Rosemount N.S
Marita Stone Shield Boys Final - Baylin N.S. v Ardnagrath N.S

Caulry 20k Cycle & family Fun evening
Caulry had a Fund-raising Family Fun evening and sponsored cycle on Friday (22nd June)  in Caulry GAA Park. Luckily the rain stayed away for the caulry cyclists on their 20k tour of the rural environs around the Mount Temple area. There was a shorter course for the U12s on the windy Friday evening. Games  like Blind mans buff and over the river kept the younger Caulry kids entertained. While Magic man Aidan Murphy amazed both young and old with his magic tricks. 

The last event in Caulry GAA pitch was the Tug-of-war, with the Mount Temple Golfers against the Caultry Gaa mentors in the 1st semi-final.
The Caulry team J Casey, G. Flanegan, TJ Dunning, R. Carroll, M. Hamilton, R. Higgins and E. Malone matched the  Golfers strength, but it was the Golfer's stamina that prevailed. In the 2nd semi-final, it was Temple Villa v Egans bar. With some of the Temple Villa team members having legs for arms, their pull was to strong for the Egan men.   In the final  Temple Villa were clear favourites, the  Mount Temple golfers did compete but could not prevent  Temple Villa being victorious.

Egan's Bar & Lounge of Mount Temple was the next port of call, where a fine barbecue awaited. A great night was had by all with the Tug-of -war competers having sore heads to match the sore limbs the next morning. Thanks to all the Organisers,  sponsorship collectors, cyclists and those who supported and participated in this event. 

A special big thanks to the chief event organisers  Ger- Kelly Lynch , Ronan Carroll and John Lawless.  Also thanks to the local clubs, Aidan Murphy and Egan's Bar & Lounge who supported this important Caulry fund raising event.

U8s Caulry v Delvin - Cusack Park (21st June 2012)
Congratulations to the  U8s who played well against Delvin in Cusack Park Mullingar  last Thursday (21st June). 
Team: Paul Hoban, Andrew Stuart Trainor, Aaron Murphy, Ben Claffey, Ian Malone, Daniel Doyle, Ava Hallissy, Alan Mc Knight, Roan Flahert, Aaron Murray, Leah Hallissy, Harry Stuart Trainor, Amy Murphy, Dara Shorthall, Conor Hynes, Tadhg Baker, Brendan McCormack and Rebecca Nally.

U14s Caulry V Kinnegad (21st June)
Caulry U14's got their championship off to a winning start last Thursday when they overcame a fancied Kinnegad side Despite almost continuous rainfall the Caulry lads played great football and supported each other in every part of the pitch. Caulry lead by a small margin at half time despite dominating proceedings. Upon resumption the Caulry lads found their rhythm and also their range, defending with determination and stringing together some excellent passages of play with precision finishing. They justifiably won on a score line of 4-11 to 1-03.
Team: Aaron Malone, Ross Daly , Darren Hynds, Charlie Parker, Kealan Dollard, Sean Clinton, Sam Nolan, Emmet Nally, Jack Bradbury Hughes, Liam Malynn, Peter O'Kelly Lynch, Sean Woods, Neil Fleming, Jordan Dunning, Aaron Fallon.Subs used- Matthew Nally, Dylan Lowry, Eoin Shortall, Colin Murphy, Adam Mullins, Liam Doyle

Many thanks to the Caulry ground staff who had the pitch in great condition despite the inclement weather.

Junior Championship Caulry v Coralstown-Kinnegad (19th June)
The Caulry Junior squad got their first points on the board in this year's Junior Championship section B, when they had a good seven point victory over Coralstown-Kinnegad in Kinnegad last Tuesday evening in their second game in the Championship on a scoreline of Caulry 2-11 Coralstown-Kinnegad 0-10. This was a very good team performance all around and the squad are now looking forward to their next game against Tyrellspass scheduled for w/e July 8th to be played in the Park.

Marita Stone Cup Final Rosemount N.S v Baylin N.S Girls (19th June)
The Baylin girls were fast out of the blocks. Aoife Healy and Kasey O’Neill controlled mid-field to give Baylin a 5 point lead at half time. The excellent Rosemount goalkeeper prevented Baylin from being further ahead. But a different Rosemount came out in the 2nd half. Only last ditch defending from the  Baylin backs and important saves from Aishing Gaynor stopped Baylin from being completely overrun. The Bayliners were the happier to hear the full time whistle and to get extra time. At the end of 1st (5 minute) half of extra time Baylin were a point ahead. Rosemount equalised in the 2nd (extra time) half. But Baylin scored the decisive point to win. The Baylin girls team convey a big thanks to their coach Miss Farrell. The reward for a great victory is the Baylin N.S. girls will have no homework for the next 2 months.

Team: Aoife Healy (Capt), Kasey O’Neill, Aishlin Gaynor, Neasa Egan, Sarah Lawless, Isebella Hamilton, Amber Galvin, Molly Connahgton, Emma Healy, Emily Dempsey, Celine Doyle, Holly Maloney, Grace Halligan’ Lauren O’Grady, Tara Flannigan, Britney McGuire, Jasmine Maloney, Aoibheann McKnight, Zara Daly and Teresa O’Leary.

Marita Stone Shield Final Ardnagrath N.S v Baylin N.S Boys (19th June)
This was a repeat of Marita Stone shield final 2011. The reigning champions Ardnagrath were defending their title against Baylin. Still fresh in Baylin’s memory was the last minute Ardnagrath goal that snatches the Marita Stone Shield from Baylin in 2011. Adam Donoghue James Carey and Olay Healy bursts out of the half back line set-up many Baylin attacks. Luke Fenlon and Aoran Lynch distributed the ball well, while Glen Carolan , Cillian Lyons and Darcy Lawless got the Baylin 1st half scores. Baylin had a 4 point half time lead. A very determined Ardnagrath started well with an early 2nd half goal. Luke Hamilton, Shane Hynes and Calm McKnight coped well with alot of Ardnagrath pressure. Zack Nolan had to make 2 vital saves, to keep the match a very tight affair. Glen, Luke Clinton and Darcy were on the score sheet in the 2nd half. Cathal Redmond, Rory Lyons and Raon Bynre battling performance kept the Arndagrath rear guard on their toes. And then Deja Vu, a last attack resulted in the goal that settled the match in Ardnagrath’s favour again. Congratulations Ardnagrath. A big thanks to Baylin Boys coach Mr. Canty for all the training sessions during the school year.

Players: Darcy Lawless (capt), Roan Byrne, Cillian Lyons, Adam Donoghue, Zach Nolan, Glen Carolan, Luke Hamilton, Shane Hynes, Luke Clinton, Luke Fenlon, James Carey, Olan Healy, Aaron Lynch, Rory Lyons, Calum McKnight and Cathal Redmond

Also a big Thanks to Rosemount for their invitation to participate in this worthy event.