Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 25th May 2014 -

posted 26 May 2014, 05:45 by Caulry Admin

Allianz  Cumann na mBunscol  Westmeath Finals - 

Two in a Row for Mount Temple - 

An Grainan, Mount Temple N.S. 3-10

Tang N.S. 3-5

An Grianan Mount Temple captured their second title in row at sun drenched Cusack Park Mullingar on Wednesday last when overcoming strong favourites Tang. With both schools also appearing in a third final in succession, Mount Temple took the initiative from the start but were made to fight all the way by a gallant Tang side. It was a near perfect display by the red and white boys who had their homework done on the opposition and had learnt from a more difficult qualifying campaign. 

James Clavin showed his Westmeath Under 13 credentials with a string of important and daring saves. Captain Rory Mullins was magnificent stuffing out the main danger in attack, with Ruairi Casey imperious. Wing back Colm Shortall had the game of his life, while Tom Cloonan tidied up everything with great acumen and efficiency. Daniel Buckley’s teak tough tackling not only broke up the Tang attacks, but were the launch pad for his own team. While creating his own piece of school history starting in his third final in succession, Thomas Dunning’s vast array of talents and experience were fully displayed, particularly anticipation and high fielding in a frantic final minutes. His partner, Conor Bracken, was a real ‘Michael Darragh McCauley’. His ‘great engine’ up and down the field totally destroyed the opposition game plan. The special talent, Roan Sweeney  gave another vintage centre forward display. Wing forwards Jamie Conlon, Luke Buckley and Alan Malynn were skilful and industrious. The reinvented and powerful, Charlie Malone’s 2-2 speaks for itself. The introduction of the diminutive, Jamie Buckley was the last thing the Tang boys needed, due to his speed and bravery.

An Grianan, Mount Temple:  James Clavin, Rory Mullins (capt), Ruairi Casey, Colm Shortall, Daniel Buckley, Tom Cloonan, Conor Bracken (0-1), Thomas Dunning (0-3), Luke Buckley (0-2), Roan Sweeney (1-2), Jamie Conlon, Charlie Malone (2-2), Alan Malynn, James Buckley, Lee Carroll, Padraig Murphy, Conor McKnight, Daniel David, Adam Watson, Eoin Buckley, Sean Malone, Leroy Coughlan, Oisin Murphy, Joshua Jocker, Sean Murphy, Adam Dunning, Joey Berry, Adam Doyle, Josh Rattigan, Aaron Murray.

This was a fantastic victory for all the panel and their coaches Liam Reilly, T. J. Dunning and Jody Malynn and all the staff of the school. The joyous celebrations, bonfires and motor cavalcade will be precious memories.

The team improved greatly throughout the season, before reaching the ultimate final display. A special thanks to the parents who provided transport to training and matches. 


Heartbreak for Baylin

Baylin N.S. 3-8

Rathweir N.S. 3-11

While one half of the parish celebrated, there was heartbreak on the other side, as the Baylin were unlucky to lose out to Rathweir after an epic final which went right down to the final whistle. Jack Norton was a safe keeper throughout, with Luke Hamilton a tower of defensive strength. Young Shane Lawless gave a veteran like display across the line. Zach Nolan led like a true captain, while Olan Healy was tireless and fearless, stopping and launching attacks. James Carey was brave and strong, with Adam Donoghue displaying his full range of scoring skills from play and frees. Glen Carolan won possession in a variety of positions with great gusto. Senan Baker’s all round skill mark him out as class act. Inside forwards, Adam O Grady and Luke Clinton were ever dangerous and showed great tenacity, despite their small stature. 

Baylin: Jack Norton, Shane Lawless, Luke Hamilton, Olan Healy, Zach Nolan, James Carey, Adam Donoghue (1-5), Luke Clinton (1-1), Senan Baker (1-0), Adam O Grady, Glenn Carolan (0-2), Cathal Redmond, Ciaran Gaynor, Callum McKnight, Dylan Joyce, Evan McCormack, Shane Hynes, Ruairi Lyons,  Robert Devereux, Daire Canty. 

While defeat was their lot on this occasion, it is a marvellous achievement to play in a county final. The entire panel and management team of Pat Canty, John Lawless and Pat Healy can feel justifiably proud after such a wonderful run and display in a great final. Thanks also to the parents who provided transport during the year.

Under 12 League

Despite the torrential rain on Saturday evening last, Caulry and Shannon Gaels (Maryland/Tang) served up two very good contested games of football in this Go Games Fe 12 league fixture played in Caulry. There were great displays on both sides and players deserve great credit for this in light of prevailing conditions.

Caulry 6-11

Shannon Gaels 8-10

Game 1 Team: Shane Lawless, James Carey (1-3), Roan Sweeney (1-3), Conor Paul, Adam Doyle, Olan Healy (0-2), Oisin Murphy (1-0), Leroy Coughlan, Conor McKnight (3-2)

Caulry 4-8

Shannon Gaels 6-03

Game 2 Team: Ruairi Casey, Rory Mullins, Colm Shortall, Adam Dunning, Tom Cloonan, Adam O Grady, Luke Buckley, Jamie Conlon, Ciaran Gaynor, Sean Malone 

Division 5 ACFL

Caulry 7-9

Ballycomoyle 1-8

Despite the long journey to Ballycomoyle on Tuesday week last, Caulry continued on their winning ways in this Division 5 league game with the benefit of a goal feast.

Team: Killian Nangle, Keith McMemainem, Aidan Murphy, Pat Buckley, Harry Hughes, Declan Donoghue, James Pettit, Micky Fitzpatrick, Ernie Bucbley, Patrick Sleator, Peter Smyth, Alan Daly, Alan Carroll, Robbie Hickey, Robbie Ryan.


Fe 12 League Caulry v Killbeggan/St Josephs in Killbeggan this Wednesday May 28 @ 7pm

Under 14 League rearranged v Millmore Gaels in Ballymore this Thursday May 29 @ 7pm

ACFL Division 1 Caulry v Tang in Tang this Saturday May 31 @ 7pm

Club Lotto

There was no winner of the jackpot in our draw held on 19th May last. 

Numbers drawn were 14,17.22,23 

Weekly winners of the €30 were:  The 6 lads, Jackie & Padraig Killane, Stephen Parker, Jimmy Dolan, Packie Allen.  

Sellers prize €30: Padraig Shortall

Thank you for your support.

Next Jackpot is €4400 on May 26th.