Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 26th November 2017-

posted 26 Nov 2017, 22:18 by Samantha Carroll
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Senior AGM and Minor AGM

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €10,000 in our draw held on 20th of November last.
Numbers drawn: 4, 5, 8, 10
Weekly winners of the €30: Marie Walker, Pakie & Bella, Bart, Johnny Kenny, Sinead McHugh
Sellers prize €30: Noel Ryan
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €10,200 on 27th of November 2017.

Senior AGM
This year's Club AGM will take place on Friday, December 8th at 8.30pm in the Community Hall, Mount Temple. Nomination and Motion papers will be available to download from the Club Website, and copies of same can be had from the Club Secretary, Keith Dolan and from Kieran's Shop in Mount Temple.
The AGM is a very important event in the club calendar as key Executive positions in the club for 2018 will be filled and plans for the year ahead for various club activities will be discussed. A large attendance of club members and new members is anticipated on the night.

Minor AGM
The Annual General Meeting of the Caulry Minor Board was held on last Friday night in Mount Temple Community Centre. 
Outgoing minor chairman, Richie Higgins, welcomed the good-sized attendance. He stated that the past year was a busy and successful one and praised the ever-growing numbers of the Caulry club. In particular, Richie praised the minor squad on being crowed Division 2 Minor Champions earlier in the year, the first time for such a title in 18 years. Richie also praised the efforts of the U6 Nursery Squad, U8 and U10 squads who participated in a number of blitzes and tournaments throughout the year. He also spoke highly of the U12 squad who had a good league campaign and part-took in various tournaments. Richie also mentioned the efforts of our U13 boys in the Cross-Boarder Tournament. Richie then praised the work of the U14 and U16 panels for their hard work and commitments throughout the year and commiserated with each team for falling short in the semi-final and quarter-final stages of their championships, but stated that the future looks bright for this fine bunch of players. The outgoing chairman praised the work of the local schools in promoting GAA in the community and complimented all our underage players who represent the club at county level. He praised the hard work of our ever-expanding Ladies club and wishes them well in their future endeavours.
Richie also spoke about the Cúl Camp hosted by Caulry during the year and thanked all those involved in the co-ordination of it. 
Richie thanked all players and managements for their hard-work and commitment during the year and parents for their great support and co-operation. He also expressed gratitude to the senior executive committee of the club for their support and encouragement during the year and thanked his fellow minor executive members for their work. Richie also thanked all underage sponsors for their generosity during the year, in particular he expressed gratitude to John Ledwith of Irequip Ltd. for kindly sponsoring gear for our minors head of their final earlier in the year.
Richie concluded by expressing sympathies to all those who suffered bereavement during the year and expressed his anticipation for the 2018 campaign.
Outgoing secretary James Hatton then gave his report and reiterated many of the chairman’s words which was followed by a representative from each underage group offering an insight into their successful and fun-filled year of football.
The election of officers then took place, with the following being elected for the coming year:

  • Chairman: Matt Hamilton
  • Vice-Chairman: Bernard Corcoran
  • Secretary: James Hatton
  • Asst. Secretary: Colin Hatton
  • Coaching Officer: deferred to senior AGM
  • Registrar: Hugh Clavin
  • Youth Liaison: Gerry Donoghue

The following team mentors were chosen:

  • U6: Pat Buckley, Sinead Buckley, Tom King, Tony Hassin, Ivens Zambrano
  • U8: Dominic McGuire, Dermot Martin, Ivan Buckley, James Casey, James Hatton, Irvine Allen, Ray McSharry
  • U10: John Madden, Anslem Fitzgerald, Leo Buckley, Ray McSharry, Ambrose McGowan
  • U12: Bernard Corcoran, Colin Hatton, Paul McCormack, Chris Mason
  • U14: Tom Stuart Trainor, Niall Shortall, David Malone
  • U16: John Lawless, Jody Malynn, Ollie Baker, Damien Keenan
These will be finalised in the coming weeks while the minor management team will be ratified at a later date. Any other club member or parent interested in assisting in any way with the club in the coming year should advise the chairman of their interest. All help is greatly appreciated.
The newly elected chairman, Matt Hamilton, then concluded the meeting by praising outgoing chairman, Richie Higgins for this hard work over the past 4 years and looks forward to a busy 2018 season.