Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 31st Oct

posted 1 Nov 2011, 01:46 by Derek Bowen
U/21 Premier Football Championship 
Caulry travelled to near neighbours Garrycastle on Friday night last to take on the home team in the first round of the County U/21 15-aside Championship

On a damp evening, Garrycastle were first out of the blocks and had a couple of points on the scoreboard before a goalmouth
scramble following an Andrew O'Sullivan attempt at goal that hit the crossbar rebounded to Robbie Kenny (right) who slotted home a goal from close-range. Caulry stretched their lead with a David Brookes point, but Garrycastle rallied with a brace of points before an opportunist penalty for Caulry gave David Brookes the chance to increase the lead with a well taken goal. Garrycastle fought back with points of their own  and following an Andrew O'Sullivan point from play, Caulry entered the break with a two point lead on a scoreline of Caulry 2-2 Garrycastle 0-6.

Garrycastle took the fight to Caulry in the opening period of the second half scoring 1-1 from play and despite Caulry slotting over a couple of points to maintain a slender lead, the game was up for grabs. Shortly after some changes were made on the line by Caulry, a great move from the back resulted in David Brookes scoring his second goal of the game to give some breathing space to Caulry,  and despite being outscored by three points to two in the closing minutes Caulry held on for a well deserved  two point victory on a scoreline of Caulry 3-6 Garrycastle 1-10. 

Up next for Caulry  will be a semi-final clash with Mullingar Shamrocks. 

Team & Scorers : Joe McMahon, Michael Mc Mahon, Kevin Maguire, Ciaran Allen, Evan Roarke, Ben Moran, Jack O'Meara, Alan Fitzpatrick, John Maguire, James Daly, Eoghan Grennan, Andrew O'Sullivan 0-2 (1f), David Brookes 2-3 (including a penalty) , Robbie Kenny (1-0), Eric Fallon (0-1). 
Sub Used : Jack O'Kelly-Lynch for James Daly. 
Quiz Night
Many thanks to all who supported the Caulry Quiz night held in Egan's Mount Temple last Friday night and congratulations to the winning team consisting of Pat Healy, Killian Healy, Richie Higgins & Ger O'Kelly-Lynch.