Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 5th July 2015-

posted 5 Jul 2015, 14:06 by Samantha Carroll
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Inter-County, Minor League, Under 12, John Egan Kerry Tournament and Division 1 ACFL

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €15,800 in our draw held on 29th of June last.
Numbers drawn: 4, 7, 9, 16
Weekly winners of the €30: Horsefly, Jacinta Smyth, Edel, Alan & Aisling, B Carter, Bridget Irwin
Sellers prize €30: Hazel Daly
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €16,000 on 6th of July 2015.

Inter County
Best of luck to Damien Dolan, Kevin Maguire and the rest of the Westmeath panel in the Leinster final on Sunday in Croke Park. The club are organising a bus to the final. Anyone interested in travelling to the match, contact Ger on 0879688814.

Minor League
Caulry 3-20
Shannon Gaels 0-9
Caulry played host to Shannon Gaels on Wednesday evening last in their latest Division 1 Minor fixture.
With both teams short a number of players, it was the home side who dominated the first half. Our lads hit the ground running with early points from Conor McCormack and Stephen Byrne. Shannon Gaels got off the mark in the 4th minute with a fine point from play. A goal on the quarter hour mark from Kristen Jocher left six points between the sides on a scoreline of 1-5 to 0-2. Late pointed frees by Conor McCormack meant Shannon Gaels trailed by nine points at the interval, on a scoreline of 1-10 to 0-4.
On the resumption, Shannon Gaels narrowed the deficit with two quick points. The Caulry lads worked well throughout and began to build up a commanding lead with Conor McCormack, Stephen Byrne and Jack Bradbury Hughes all in top scoring form. Jack Connaughton brought off a couple of great saves at vital times and Charlie Parker and Colin Murphy played strong in defence. Two late goals from Sean Woods and Sylvester Coughlan ensured Caulry ran out easy winners with the scoreboard reading 3-20 to 0-9 on the final whistle.
Team & Scorers: Jack Connaughton, Peter O’Kelly Lynch, Patrick Browne, Jordan Dunning, Colin Murphy, Irwyn Griffin, Charlie Parker, Emmet Nally (0-2), Stephen Connolly (0-1), Stephen Byrne (0-6, 4f), Conor McCormack (0-10, 6f), Jack Bradbury Hughes (0-1), Sean Woods (1-0), Kristen Jocher (1-0), Sylvester Coughlan (1-0)
Subs: Darren Browne for Irwyn Griffin, Sean Fox for Emmet Nally

Under 12
Caulry 8-10
Mullingar Shamrocks 6-4
Our u12s made the journey to Mullingar Shamrocks on Wednesday last. We had the assistance of four u10s: Roan Flaherty,Tadhg Baker,Oisin Shortall and Tiarnan O Donovan to strengthen the panel. The game began at a lively pace that was to continue to the end with Caulry playing an attractive brand of football, being mean in defence and lethal in attack. Minding the goals Ben Claffey did a good job and found his men on the kickouts. Defence included Adam Doyle, Adam O Grady, Roan Flaherty, Paul Hogan and Tom Cloonan who stopped countless attacks. Midfield was the new pairing of Joey Berry and Ruiari Casey giving a good account of themselves. Up front Tadhg Baker (1-3), Senan Baker (1-1),  A Dunning (2-0), Alan Malynn (2-4), and the tricky James Buckley adding 1-2 to the account. Tiarnan O Donovan also added a goal to the tally and Oisin Shortall did well in defence when introduced. This impressive display resulted in Caulry running out winners  on a scoreline of  8-10 to 6-4 .Well done lads! 

John Egan Kerry Under 14 Tournament
Caulry are delighted to be taking part in the prestigious John Egan Kerry Tournament this coming week. The Tournament in memory of the Late great former Kerry footballer, sees top teams from all over Ireland and London taking part in a feast of Under 14 football. Caulry players and coaches will leave on Thursday morning where they will be hosted by The St Senan’s club Mountcoal near Listowel. Friday will see ours lads pit their footballing skills against All- Ireland Feile Division 1 champions Austin Stacks among others, in what will be a busy schedule of matches, culminating in a parade through the streets of Killarney to Fitzgerald Stadium. After finals day on Saturday, the lucky lads will return home in time for the journey to Croke Park and cheer on the Westmeath team. Incidentally in the recent Leinster semi-final programme for the Westmeath v Meath match, Caulry success all of 31 years ago in that years All- Ireland Feile received a special mention, and it’s these kind of memories, that hopefully this present group will be still talking about years later, after this Kingdom trip.

Division 1 ACFL
Caulry 0-9
Tyrellspass 0-8
Caulry and Tyrellspass served up an entertaining encounter on Sunday evening last in their latest Division 1 ACFL fixture.
Both teams were slow to settle and were guilty of early misses. A fine point from Robbie Kenny got Caulry off the mark in the 7th minute. The team traded points, with Ernie Buckley scoring for Caulry. A pointed-free from Conor McCormack and a point from Robbie Hickey stretched Caulry’s lead to three points. A late point from the opposition put two points between the sides at the interval, on a scoreline of 0-4 to 0-2.
On the resumption, two early Tyrellspass points meant it was level pegging. Robbie Hickey pointed for Caulry on the 33rd minute. A strong Caulry defence, in particular James Pettit, Damien Dolan and Ernie Buckcley who played exceptional  throughout, denied Tyrellspass a goal on the 37th minute.  The third quarter of the game saw Caulry at their best with nice combined teamwork, resulting in points from play by Gary Flanagan and John Maguire. Peter Smyth and Stephen Woods kicked the next two scores of the game, stretching Caulry’s lead to four points. Two red card incidents resulted in both teams being forced to finish with 14 men. Late points for Tyrellspass meant Caulry escaped with the victory on a scoreline of 0-9 to 0-8.
Team & Scorers: Joe McMahon, Damien Dolan, Declan Donohoe, James Pettit, Emmet Nally, Ernie Buckley (0-1), Ben Moran, Gary Flanagan (0-1), Sean Doyle, Eoghan Grennan, Robbie Hickey (0-2), Alan Fitzpatrick, Conor McCormack (0-1, 1f), John Maguire (0-1), Robbie Kenny
Subs: Alan Daly for Eoghan Grennan, Peter Smyth (0-1) for Conor McCormack, Stephen Woods (0-1) for Robbie Kenny