Club News‎ > ‎

Caulry GAA PRO Notes 6th October 2019-

posted 8 Oct 2019, 02:03 by Samantha Carroll   [ updated 8 Oct 2019, 08:47 ]
Headlines This Week:
Lotto Results, Sympathies, Mobile Cardiac Screening and IFC Final

Club lotto
There was no winner of the jackpot of €5,600 in our draw held on 30th of September last.
Numbers drawn: 15, 16, 17, 26
Weekly winners of the €30: Kelly Preston, Calvin Dunne, Catherine Ganly, Jenny Buckley, Lisa Lefebvre
Sellers prize €30: Richie Higgins
Thank you for your support.
Next Jackpot is €5,800 on 8th of October 2019.

The club extends its deepest sympathies to the Hughes family, Creggan, and Mullarney family, Shurock on their recent sad losses.
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a n-anamacha.

Mobile Cardiac Screening
Caulry GAA will host a Mobile Cardiac Screening in the park on Saturday, November 9th from 9:30am to 5pm. This service costs €67.50 per person or is free with LAYA Health Insurance. For more information on how to book, visit or check out our Facebook page.

IFC Final
Caulry 3-13
Milltownpass 2-10
Our lads made history on Sunday evening last when they took to the field in TEG Cusack Park the 2019 Writech Intermediate Football Championship Final.
Caulry raced out of the tracks with a shot from Harry Hughes being well blocked down before Milltownpass worked the ball up the field, finishing the move with a converted-free. Kevin Maguire and Damien Dolan combined well in the Caulry defence as they set Colin Murphy up for his opening point as three minutes elapsed. The Caulry lads showed great composure and patience in attack as they rounded the Milltownpass defence, with Gary Flanagan sending a fine point over the bar. Our lads found good rhythm to their play as the next two scores of the game came from the boot of Conor McCormack, one a routine free and the other coming from a good pass from Maguire. Flanagan then showed great vision as a quick-free was worked through Paddy Sleator to Emmet Nally who riffled the back of the net on the 8th minute. A point from Sleator moments later put Caulry seven points the good. It was the opposition who launched the next series of attacks with two paying dividends and narrowing the deficit to five. However, Nally and McCormack soon restored the lead with their points on the 14th and 16th minutes. Milltownpass never gave up as they built from the kickout and were awarded a penalty, which was finished neatly to the back of the net. The Caulry lads never seemed phased though as Maguire responded in style with a well-taken goal after combining nicely with Andy O’Sullivan. Milltownpass drew two back before McCormack shot for our third goal of the game to leave Caulry ahead 3-7 to 1-5 at the break.
Milltownpass were first to get motoring in the second half with a converted-free shortly after the resumption of play. A shot from Sleator was well blocked down by the opposition’s goalie as the men in black narrowed the deficit with two more points. McCormack opened our second half scoring tally on the 40th minute with a pointed-free. Our lads then built from the kickout with Hughes and O’Sullivan tagging on scores. This lead was cut back to four after Milltownpass tagged on an unanswered 1-1. The teams then traded points, with McCormack registering his fifth after a good burst forward from Sean Clinton. Further points from Flanagan and Nally preceded the fulltime whistle which was welcomed by a red wave of Caulry fans bursting onto the field as our lads deservedly prevailed on a scoreline of 3-13 to 2-10. Joint-captains Conor McCormack and Eoin Fox then climbed the steps of Cusack Park and lifted the Peter Geraghty Cup.
Congratulations to the lads and their management team of John Benton, Robbie Ryan and Damien Keenan on their hugely successful year. The lads must be commended for their hard-work and commitment throughout the year, the results of which was seen in Cusack Park with the fine brand of football that was on display.
Many thanks also to our vast army of supporters who turned out in great numbers on the day.
Team & Scorers: Cillian Nagle, Sean Fox, Eoin Fox, Sean Clinton, Damien Dolan, Kevin Maguire (1-0), Harry Hughes (0-1), Stephen Connolly, Neil Clinton, Emmet Nally (1-2), Conor McCormack (1-5, f2), Colin Murphy (0-1), Paddy Sleator (0-1), Gary Flanagan (1-2), Andy O’Sullivan (0-1)
Subs: Alan Daly for Damien Dolan, Thomas Dunning for Colin Murphy, Cialan Dollard for Gary Flanagan, John Maguire for Andy O’Sullivan, Eoin Shortall for Sean Fox