Club News‎ > ‎

Congratulations Nestor

posted 25 Oct 2012, 10:55 by Derek Bowen   [ updated 26 Nov 2012, 23:41 by Caulry Admin ]

Nestor Allen helps Westmeath win New York JFL title.

Westmeath claimed the New York JFL title last Sunday following a dramatic 3-15 to 1-17 extra-time victory over Cavan at Gaelic Park.

Tubberclair's Jeffrey Farrell and St. Loman's county star Conor Lynam scored 1-7 and 1-6 respectively as the Lake County exiles recovered from a disastrous start, that saw them fall 10 points in arrears, to bridge a 10-year gap since their last success in the Big Apple, which was a JFC title in 2002.

"We're absolutely delighted," Westmeath manager Michael Stones told this week's Westmeath Topic.

"The club was only reformed two years ago after a five-year absence from competition, so this is huge for us. Of the 15 players who started the final for us, 12 are originally from Westmeath. The lads could have thrown in the towel after going 10 points down in the first 20 minutes, but they stuck to their task and got their just rewards in the end.

"It's brilliant for the club and makes up for the disappointment of losing the JFC semi-final to Celtics a few weeks ago. Hopefully we'll be able to build on this and win the JFC title next year," added the Kilbeggan native.

The victorious Westmeath team was: 
John Gavin (St. Loman's); Liam Butler (Galway), Kevin Deehan (Moate All-Whites), Dean O'Donnell (Dublin); Jonathan Holloway (Castledaly), Keith Scally (Tyrrellspass), Ray Keenan (Rosemount); Robbie Jackson (St. Malachy's), Darren Pettit (St. Joseph's); James Stones (Kilbeggan Shamrocks), Conor Lynam (St. Loman's), Paul Mulhern (Waterford); Ray Coyle (Mayo), Jeffrey Farrell (Tubberclair), Nestor Allen (Caulry)
Subs: Danny Fagan (Ballynacargy) and Darren Doherty (Tyrone).