History‎ > ‎

1988 Under 12 County Final Reply

Under 12's Triumph at Second Attempt

Caulry 1-03
Ballymore 0-02

In this Under 12 B Championship replay at Drumraney on Friday night last, Caulry wrestled the title for the first time from title holders, Ballymore. A great through ball from J.J. Corcoran, led to a tonic Shane Carroll goal almost from the throw-in, and from here on, the young Caulry lads played like men on a mission. Caulry were on top almost in all sectors throughout, and unlike the previous evening, they never let Ballymore settle into a rhythm. With full-back Aidan Cunningham proving an inspiration with his sure fielding and lengthy clearances, the defensive sextet and goalkeeper remained solid and vigilant throughout. The midfield duo of Caulry won a much greater share of possession on this occasion and kept the lively forwards busy, although some good defending by the opposition kept scores to a premium. After Shane Carroll's well-taken goal, Ballymore replied with a fine point before Anslem Fitzgerald restored the one goal advantage. Despite chances at both ends, the scores remained the same up to the half-way stage. 

Ballymore pressed hard on the resumption and were rewarded with a point after the Caulry defence failed to clear a close-in free. Caulry's two point lead looked very precarious at this stage and sensing this, Caulry threw everything into attack. After a couple of missed chance, including frees, Mark Dolan finally found the target with a twenty metre free. However Caulry were not out of the woods yet and a timely interception by Colin Hatton saved the day before Anslem Fitzgerald, under extreme pressure from defenders, slotted over the insurance score, much to the joy of Caulry's large and vocal following. This was a great and satisfying victory and none more satisfied than team mentors, Tom Fitzgerald and Aidan Dunning, whose great efforts were justly rewarded.

As stated earlier, this was a much better team performance than in the drawn encounter, and if Aidan Cunningham gets 'man of the match' award on this this occasion, none of his comrades were far behind. Enda Malone was a very capable goalkeeper, while there are hardly any more stout hearted defenders in the club than Colin Hatton and Rory Doyle. Anthony Malone continued on his top-class performance from the previous encounter, while his flankers Damien Killane and Richard Muldoon gave an example of wing-backplay. Captain, Mark Dolan and the ever-eager Nester Allen gave their team a decided midfield edge and as leader of the attack, Irvine Allen played his role to perfection, winning possession and laying off superbly. Donie Buckley had his best match of the year, and Derek Bowen was as industrious as ever, supporting the midfield and full forward lines like all good half forwards. Anslem Fitzgerald, although not as prominent as in the drawn encounter, nevertheless contributed two excellent and vital scores. J.J. Corcoran and Shane Carroll ranged from their positions and were always in the think of the action, and no doubt, Shane's goal will be talked about for a long time down Moyvoughly way. 

Team and Scores: Enda Malone, Colin Hatton, Aidan Cunningham, Rory Doyle, Damien Killane, Anthony Malone, Richard Muldoon, Mark Dolan (capt., 0-01), Nestor Allen, Donie Buckley, Irvine Allen, Derek Bowen, J.J. Corcoran, Anslem Fitzgerald (0-02), Shane Carroll (1-00).  
Subs., Benny Noone, James Carroll, Trevor Bowen, Michael McNeill, Ivan Buckley