History‎ > ‎

2014 Leinster club IFC

Leinster club IFC: Crawley fists O'Mahony's into next round

Sean O’Mahony’s (Louth) 1-11
Caulry (Westmeath) 0-10

Sean O’Mahony’s made a winning start to their Leinster IFC campaign with a deserved victory over Caulry in Mount Temple.

Seeking to emulate the achievement of last year’s Leinster winners Geraldine’s, the Dundalk club were never headed, yet they had looked to be in a precarious position when the home side scored the first four points of the second half to draw level on 0-8 apiece.

However, after county minor Stephen Kilcoyne had edged them back in front, big midfielder Conor Crawley fisted home a Kilcoyne centre in the 44th minute to make it 1-9 to 0-8 and Kilcoyne added two more points to put the game beyond the Westmeath champions.

Kilcoyne top-scored with 0-5 (0-4 from play), while county man John O’Brien and wing forward Peter Nixon were also excellent for the winners. David Brookes was the pick of the Caurly team.

Scorers – Sean O’Mahony’s: Stephen Kilcoyne 0-5 (1 free), Conor Finnegan 0-3 (1 free), Conor Crawley (1-0), Liam Dullaghan 0-2 and Stephen Fisher 0-1. 
Scorers - Caulry: David Brookes 0-4 (3 frees), Peter Smyth 0-3 (2 frees), Eoin Fox 0-2 (1 ‘45’) and Eoghan Grennan 0-1.

Sean O’Mahony’s: Kevin Brennan; Pat O’Brien, Michael Clarke, Ronan Byrne; Liam Dullaghan, John O’Brien, Keith McLaughlin; Conor Crawley, Shane Brennan; Peter Nixon, Conor Finnegan, Kurt Murphy; Stephen Fisher, Conor Martin, Stephen Kilcoyne. 
Subs: Gary Mulligan for Martin (33 min), Barry Mackin for Kilcoyne (56 min) and Niall McLaughlin for Crawley (56 min).

Caulry: Joe McMahon; Eoin Fox, Declan Donoghue, James Pettit; Damien Dolan, Ben Moran, Brian Mullarney; Kevin Maguire, Alan Fitzpatrick; Eoghan Grennan, Alan Rigney, Robbie Hickey; David Brookes, Gary Flanagan, Peter Smyth. 
Subs: John Maguire for Flanagan (44 min, injured), Alan Daly for Hickey (44 min), Ernie Buckley for Pettit (47 min), Andy O’Sullivan for Rigney (58 min) and Jack O’Kelly-Lynch for Donoghue (60 min, black card).

Referee – Patrick Maguire (Longford).